The Delaware Breast Cancer Coalition announced the winners of the 2018 Shining Light Awards, which honor individuals and organizations who have made a difference in the local battle against breast cancer.

Awards will be presented to individuals and companies in various categories: Sens. Margaret Rose Henry and Liane Sorenson, for the “Victoria Cooke Leadership Award”; Love Congo and Former First Lady Carla Markell, for “Spotlight on Survivorship”; Sandy and Bob Ashby, Ashby Hospitality Group, for “Spotlight on Philanthropy”; Wendy Newell, Wolf Creek Surgeons, for “Spotlight on Healthcare Delivery and Research”; and WSFS Bank, for “Spotlight on Business”.

The 2018 Shining Light Award winners will be honored from 8 to 10 a.m. June 8 at the Chase Center on the Riverfront, 815 Justison St., Wilmington. The welcome address will be given by Delaware Lt. Gov. Bethany Hall-Long.

Proceeds will benefit DBCC’s programs that increase breast cancer awareness, promote the importance of early detection, provide access to mammograms and cervical cancer screenings and provide support and resources to women and men in the local community who are newly diagnosed or facing a recurrence of breast cancer.

For more, visit or email