Tidewater Utilities Compliance Manager Alexis Virdin-Gede, of Smyrna, was named the 2016 Water Professional of the Year; and Veolia North America Chief Laboratory Analyst Mary Sidell, of Wilmington, was named the 2016 Wastewater Professional of the Year at the 2016 Water and Wastewater Professionals Annual Award Ceremony on May 11 at Delaware Technical Community College Owens Campus.

The awards are presented annually to water operators, wastewater operators and on-site professionals who have demonstrated technical excellence and a work ethic while contributing to the level of water quality in Delaware.

Septic Solutions Owner Kimberly A. Yanaitis, of Newark, was named On-Site Professional of the Year. The Allen J. Williams Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Glenn F. Davis, of Middletown, a program manager with the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control’s Surface Water Discharge Section.

In addition, the Tidewater Utilities Inc. Northern District team of James Craig, Jim Faulkner, Purnell Potter, Mike Vonville, Daniel Wakefield, Regan Cummings, Mike Evans, Mike Funk and Al Miller were honored with the Water/Wastewater Professionals Team Award.

The guest speaker for the ceremony was Chris Bason, executive director of Center for the Inland Bays.

The ceremony is sponsored by Delaware Technical Community College; the Delaware Rural Water Association; Division of Public Health, Office of Drinking Water; Department of Natural Resources; Environmental Control, Division of Water Resources; Delaware On-Site Wastewater Recycling Association; and the Water and Wastewater Operators Association, Eastern Shore Chapter.