The Delaware Office of Highway Safety is staging its high-visibility media campaign “Don’t be the You You Hate” and funding increased law enforcement presence on Delaware’s roads to enforce distracted-driving laws from Feb. 27 to March 16.
Drivers caught using a handheld device will be fined $100 for their first offense. Subsequent offenses will be $200 and then $300.
While the problem spans all age ranges, texting and driving has become an especially problematic trend among millennials. Drivers ages 16 to 24 years old have been observed using handheld electronic devices while driving at higher rates than older drivers since 2007, according to National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
In 2016, there were 3,450 people killed and 391,000 people injured because of this behavior.
For more, visit ohs.delaware.gov and arrivealivede.com/just-drive.