The district was nominated by the Delaware Department of Education for composting, energy efficient upgrades, and curricular involvement

Acting Chair of the White House Council on Environmental Quality Mike Boots joined U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan to announce that Red Clay Consolidated School District is among the 48 2014 U.S. Department of Education Green Ribbon Schools District Sustainability Awardees.

The district was nominated by the Delaware Department of Education, highlights of which included composting, energy efficient upgrades, and curricular involvement. 

“Red Clay has a history of commitment to environmental issues,” said Superintendent Merv Daugherty. “Through decreasing our impact on landfills, decreasing our use of fossil fuels, and integrating environmental issues into our curriculum, we are proud of our accomplishments that benefit our students, our taxpayers, and our community.”  

Forty-eight schools were honored for their exemplary efforts to reduce environmental impact and utility costs, promote better health, and ensure effective environmental education, including civics and green career pathways. In addition, nine districts were honored for the District Sustainability Award.  Duncan and Boots made the announcement at the U.S. Department of Education, in Washington, DC.

Duncan also announced a new post-secondary nomination category will be added to the school and district awards for the coming year.

The schools were confirmed from a pool of candidates voluntarily nominated by 30 state education agencies.   The list of selectees includes 39 public schools and nine private schools. The public schools include 10 early learning programs, three charter, one magnet and three career and technical schools. The schools serve various grade levels, including 29 elementary, 16 middle and 18 high schools are among them, with several schools having various K-12 configurations, from 27 states.  Twenty-one of the 2014 honorees serve a disadvantaged student body and 18 are rural. 

The list of all selected schools and districts, as well as their nomination packages, can be found at