Hockessin Community News
  • Wilmington Charter School honored with Blue Ribbon status

  • One of three Delaware schools honored in 2013-14
    • email print
  • Last week, the Charter School of Wilmington was officially recognized by a prestigious national program.
    On Friday, Jan. 30, CSW’s President Samuel Paoli, and Math Department Chair Stephen Satalino, received the official 2013 National Blue Ribbon banner and plaque from the U.S. Department of Education’s National Blue Ribbon School Program.
    Paoli presented the Blue Ribbon plaque and banner to the Charter school community during a special assembly on Friday morning. Governor Jack Markell and Red Clay School District Superintendent Merv Dougherty praised the students, faculty and parents for their passion and focus.  Senior class President Neelam Modi and Vice President Eric Anderson also spoke at the event.
    “Being recognized as one of the best high schools in the country for academic excellence is truly an honor,” Paoli said. “I want to thank the entire CSW community, past and present, for all the hard work, leadership and commitment to the success and national recognition of CSW.  We will continue to strive for excellence by preparing our students both academically and socially, so when they graduate from our great school, they have all the necessary tools to compete, not only in our country, but to compete globally.”
    The school is one of three Delaware schools to receive the distinction in 2013, sharing the award with Frear Elementary School in the Caesar Rodney School District, and Shields Elementary School in Cape Henlopen School District.
    Arne Duncan, U.S. Secretary of Education, made the announcement as a guest speaker at a ceremony held in Washington, D.C. on Tuesday, Nov. 19.  Director of the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program Aba Kumi presented the awards, granting status to 286 National Blue Ribbon Schools.
    According to a press release from CSW, the 2013 National Blue Ribbon school recipients were inspired by presentations from the 2014 National High School Principal of the Year Sheila Harrity, from Worcester Technical School, and the 2013 National Teacher of the Year, Jeffrey Charbonneau, from Zillah High School in Washington.
    The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program was created in 1982 to honor schools which have achieved high levels of performance, or made significant improvements in closing the achievement gap in schools where at least 40% of the student population is classified as disadvantaged.
        • »  EVENTS CALENDAR